Nancy Carlsson-Paige Receives Lifetime Bammy Award


​We are proud to announce that DEY’s senior advisor Nancy Carlsson-Paige will soon be presented with a lifetime achievement Bammy Award. The Bammy Award was conceived to help celebrate what is right with education. See the press release from the Academy of Education and Sciences below:

LOS ANGELES–(BUSINESS WIRE)–July 12, 2013–Today the Academy of Education Arts and Sciences announced the hosts and presenters for the second annual Bammy Awards honoring the contributions of educators in 28 categories across the field. Presenters announced today include Dennis Van Roekel, president of the National Education Association; Marybeth Hertz, executive board member of the Edcamp Foundation; Dan Domenech, executive director of the American Association of School Administrators; Chris Lehmann, founder and co-chair of Educon; Gail Connelly, executive director of the National Association of Elementary School Principals; Angela Maiers, founder of Choose2Matter; Yasmina Vinci, executive director for the National Head Start Association; John Merrow, veteran education reporter at PBS; Donna Mazyck, executive director of the National Association of School Nurses; Tom Whitby and Steven Anderson, co-founders of #Edchat; Caroline Hendrie, executive director of the Education Writers Association. William J. Bushaw, executive director, PDK International Family; Rob Lippincott, senior vice president, PBS Learning Media; and The Northeast Foundation for Children.

The 2013 Bammy Awards will be held at the Arena Stage at the Mead Center in Washington, D.C., on September 21(st) . The awards will be co-hosted by Dr. Mark Ginsberg, dean of the College of Education and Human Development at George Mason University, and Errol St. Clair Smith, Emmy-winning correspondent, broadcaster and executive producer of the Bammy Awards.
This year’s celebration will include a number of special presentations, including lifetime achievement awards to Randi Weingarten and Nancy Carlsson-Paige, special achievement awards to the founders of Edcamp and #Edchat, a special Bammy presentation to educators from Sandy Hook Elementary School, a salute by the BAM 100 celebrating connected educators, Bammy Awards for the best in education technology, and a very special Bammy Award honoring a truly exceptional student.
“The Bammy Awards were created in response to the relentless national criticism of America’s public schools, while all that is right in American education is largely ignored,” said Errol St. Clair Smith, Bammy Awards executive producer. Modeled on the broad scope of the Oscars, Grammys and Emmys, the Bammy Awards were created to be a cross-discipline honor celebrating the entire education village.

About the Academy of Education Arts and Sciences
The Academy is comprised of over 212 prominent education leaders, including Linda Darling-Hammond, professor of education at Stanford University; Diane Ravitch, former Assistant Secretary of Education; Timothy Shriver, CEO of the Special Olympics; and the executive directors of NAESP, AASA, PTA, NASN, ASBO and NASSP.
CONTACT: Academy of Education Arts and SciencesErrol St. Clair Smith, 818-539-5971
SOURCE: Academy of Education Arts and Sciences Copyright Business Wire 2013

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.